Why do we use VDT?

Amit,

With a quick overview of the VDT website, it looks like that VDT is a kind of clustering toolkit like OSCAR and it made me think of the several questions.
(setup == install/configure)

  1. Why/how did we start to look at VDT?
  2. If VDT has a complete solution to setup globus/condor, can we use it (not VDT itself but its solution) in OSCAR?
  3. Is it difficult to install globus/condor without VDT?
  4. Can we just start to install globus/condor without VDT by studying how VDT works?

Basically, I want OSCAR to take over eventually what VDT does for the globus/condor installation now.

I am not sure if this is a right approach is or not but I would like to spend some times to dig out how VDT setup globus/condor in a cluster.

Anyway, if VDT is the only way that we have to take, as I mentioned at IM on May 17 we have to consider the following extra things((A),(B), and (C) should be necessary whether we go with VDT or not).

  • VDT should be ready for any distros that OSCAR supports(i.e., if there are any rpm dependencies on VDT in a certain distro, VDT rpm may need to be recompiled on the corresponding distros)
  • The distros that VDT supports should be the same as OSCAR or more
  • VDT should be able to setup globus/condor with local repositories(i.e., without any internet connections)
  • The automatic installation should be implemented by referring to this link
  • All the necessary pre-configuration should be done at Step 2 “Configure Selected OSCAR Packages..” in oscar_wizard (A)
  • During the installation, we can configure with $OSCAR_HOME/packages/*/setup where * can be globus or any appropriate package name (B)
  • All the necessary post-configuration should be done at Step 7 “Complete Cluster Setup” in oscar_wizard (C)

But I think that OSCAR can take over all the necessary features of VDT to setup globus/condor.
What do you think?

For a short term, I think using VDT to setup globus/condor on OSCAR is a good idea because I believe that we can figure out how VDT set these things up.
Once we figure it out, let’s do some scripts to take over all the necessary features.

– DongInn

1 comment so far

  1. Amit Vyas on

    Hi doglnn,
    I shall answer some of the Questions
    VDT is a solution which is built on top of pacman.
    pacman is a solution where it contact a particular cache for pacman based cache for a particular software.
    for e.g VDT is a software repository(cache) for grid related software like globus & condor.
    VDT team maintain a set of software for a particular distro ( obviously after testing)
    (I do not know why there are some restriction on distro being used , since globus and condor can be installed on almost all *nix systems)
    VDT is a pacman based cache and adhere to pacman based rules to provide easy access to software being published.
    Generally a single command and series of question (which can be PRE-ANSWERED as per http://vdt.cs.wisc.edu/releases/1.3.11/auto-installation.html
    Depending upon what u are installing)
    Since we have previous vdt based package the job of getting it worked was easier than starting from scratch as pointed our by bernard li & you , on irc. I had got it working but yet to upload it to svn , just testing it out for installation.
    I asked regarding support of FC-5 in vdt got it working too. But I got replies that they are not workin on fc-5 support for vdt instead I can try with some workaround. That had somewhat made me worried regarding distro support for OSCAR(I had mailed you all adv/dis-adv)
    VDT is not the only way for globus/condor packages to go but I would say it is far most easier way than going directly to globus/ condor and trying to repackage them for all our disro.
    I guess you are right I shall be get back to you after I am done with all scripts and with test install of globus on my system( need to start vmware server now 🙂
    A sample of a Globus install on a cluster is given at http://www.globus.org/toolkit/docs/4.0/admin/docbook/quickstart.html#q-cluster
    1. So essentially I know that the supported distrbution for VDT are http://vdt.cs.wisc.edu/releases/1.6.1/requirements.html which are pretty much different from what OSCAR supports.It is fair to concluded that VDT supporting at least all OSCAR distribution will not happen in the current scope of GSoC project.
    2. The requirement of getting all packages without an internet connection can be figured out since whatever pacman downloads become another cache for pacman to refer http://physics.bu.edu/~youssef/pacman/htmls/
    I guess this could be done only some effort will be utilized in downloading entire system and providing downloads from OSCAR site.
    3. I shall be keeping A,B,C in mind always I have tested (trial and error scripts) as of now till step 4 so still to test step 7 for the same.
    I would not comment on how difficult globus installation without VDT, But I shall now try to provide a basic vdt package with scripts that take care of globus installation by contacting internet for first time and then use local cache thereafter in case of re installation. Since VDT not supporting OSCAR distro could be an important issue. if you ask me as a OSCAR user I would not like some software included with OSCAR which have different disto support than OSCAR.
    Guess we need to think more.
    I will be fast on getting scripts in SVN now.


Leave a Reply

